Skip to main content

Massport Awards Annual Rauseo Memorial Scholarship

East Boston resident receives award for college
Liliana Vargas Bonilla (center), with Rocco Rauseo, Donna Rauseo’s son (left) and Alaina Coppola, Director of Community Relations & Government Affairs (right)

BOSTON – The Massachusetts Port Authority (Massport) today announced the recipient of the annual
scholarship honoring the memory of longtime employee Donna Rauseo. The 2024 Donna Rauseo Memorial
Scholarship was awarded to East Boston resident Liliana Vargas Bonilla.

“Liliana’s commitment to the East Boston community is something I know would make Donna so proud,” said
Massport interim CEO Ed Freni. “I am confident that Liliana will continue to excel as she moves on to Messina
College next year and she will continue to make a positive impact on her community.”

The Donna Rauseo Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a female student who resides in East Boston.
Rauseo was a graduate of East Boston High School and for more than 20 years was the executive assistant to
Thomas J. Kinton, Jr. when he served as Aviation Director of Logan Airport and later as CEO and Executive
Director for Massport.

Bonilla graduated from East Boston High School and will soon attend Messina College at Boston College. She
has volunteered her time at GEAR UP, EdVestors and organizing many events and activities at East Boston High

To be considered for the Donna Rauseo Memorial Scholarship, students are required to have a minimum 3.0 grade
point average and submit an essay of 1,000 words describing their career interests or how their community service
has affected their outlook on life. In her essay, Liliana wrote, “For me, performing community service is a

voluntary activity motivated by a sincere desire to have a positive influence and make the world a more welcoming
and supportive place for all people, rather than just a duty or responsibility.”

Applications are judged by a committee made up of Massport employees and a representative of the Rauseo
family. Students interested in applying for the 2025 scholarship should visit for eligibility